CAPPELLA DELLA SINDONE

Royal Museums
THE CHAPEL OF THE HOLY SHROUD REOPENS TO THE PUBLIC ON 27TH SEPTEMBER
After a long and difficult restoration, it is finally returned to the world.
 

The task of designing and creating the Chapel to house the Holy Shroud was entrusted in 1667 to Guarino Guarini, one of the leading architects of Baroque in Piedmont, who concluded the work in 1690. The project was based on the idea of the Shroud as the extreme evidence of the mystery of Redemption, death and resurrection of Jesus Christ. Architecture itself thus becomes the experience of "ascending within death" to the light of divine glory.


From 1694 until the early nineties of the twentieth century, the Chapel of the Holy Shroud has guarded the precious relic, now preserved in the transept of Turin’s Cathedral.

During the night between 11 and 12 April 1997, the Chapel was affected by a large fire which seriously damaged the building.

Contacts
piazzetta reale, 1, 10100 Torino (TO)

45.0729041, 7.6861443

From 04/12/2020 to 15/01/2021

  • Mon
    Closed
  • Tue
    Closed
  • Wed
    Closed
  • Thu
    Closed
  • Fri
    Closed
  • Sat
    Closed
  • Sun
    Closed
It is located in